more from
Dutch Music Works


by Inventions

supported by
Sven B. Schreiber
Sven B. Schreiber thumbnail
Sven B. Schreiber After "Meta" and "Curiosity", this is Christiaan Bruin's third "Inventions" album. The concept is the same as before, i.e. the songs deal with fundamental questions in the natural and human sciences, which is an interesting and quite unusual approach to lyricism in rock music. The music sounds as ambitious as could be expected from the liner notes. Actually , it chokes on over-ambition. I was worried after seeing two 13+-minute epics in the track listing, and my worries turned out to be justified. The title track is pseudo-prog nonsense stuffed to 15 minutes, and the pointless sax tooting contributed by Theo Travis doesn't make it any better. Things don't improve later on. The interspersed narration, while touching interesting topics, sounds like recorded from a medium wave radio through a cheap microphone, which wrecks all good intentions. Only occasionally the good old Christiaan Bruin genius glimpses through large-scale boredom. "Curiosity" was such a great album, but the desperately awaited follow-up is not even a shadow of it. It's another example of a needless "let's make a mega progressive album" aproach, which is always always always doomed to fail. Favorite track: Platonics.
  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    The price of this item is excluding standard packaging and postage cost world-wide.

    You can upgrade to either track & trace postage or insured postage by adding a postage upgrade. You can find the postage upgrades as merch items at

    This album is released by: FREIA Music

    Includes unlimited streaming of Logica via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 8 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      €12.95 EUR or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €10 EUR  or more


Logica 15:25
Mind of God 05:04
Citadels 05:12


Logica is the third album in the Iinventions series. Featuring Theo Travis (Steven Wilson, Robert Fripp, Soft Machine, David Gilmour) on saxophones and flute, the Rotterdam-based DOT Quartet on strings, and narrations by Andy Rowe (The Room), this is probably my most ambitious album since The Black Codex.
Recorded in two separate churches, an empty theater, a coffee roastery, two studio’s and a living room, ‘LOGICA’ has a symphonic, orchestral sound with influences of Mike Oldfield, early King Crimson and Steve Reich.

Christiaan states: "I wanted to achieve the organic sound of a big ensemble playing live, with narrations and layered vocals on top. The result is an immersive concept album about the deep links between mathematics, logic, language, perception, art and physics.”


released April 15, 2019

Christiaan Bruin - all vocals and instruments, except:
Theo Travis - soprano sax, tenor sax, flute
DOT Quartet -strings
Andy Rowe - narrations

Album cover by Marcus Sprigens


all rights reserved



Christiaan Bruin Netherlands

contact / help

Contact Christiaan Bruin

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Logica, you may also like: